Home Practice
For learners and parents For teachers and schools
Full catalogue
Learners Leaderboard Classes/Grades Leaderboard Schools Leaderboard
Pricing Support
Help centre Contact us
Log in

We think you are located in United States. Is this correct?


Test yourself now

High marks in science are the key to your success and future plans. Test yourself and learn more on Siyavula Practice.

Sign up and test yourself

Chapter 25 Geometry of 3D objects

25.1 Introduction

The five Platonic solids are the tetrahedron, hexahedron (cube), octahedron, icosahedron and dodecahedron. They are named after the ancient Greek philosopher Plato.

In this chapter, you will learn more about working with the five Platonic solids. This is a special group of three-dimensional shapes. In each Platonic solid, the faces are congruent (identical).